View Awards by

Abraham T. C. Wong '72 Excellence in Teaching Award
ACM Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award

Presented annually to an outstanding educator who is recognized for advancing new teaching methodologies, or effecting new curriculum development or expansion in Computer Science and Engineering. More info...


ACSU Faculty of the Year

The Cornell Association for Undergraduates recognizes one computer science teacher per year.


AFIPS Education Award

American Federation of Information Processing Societies


Amoco Foundation Award for Excellence in Teaching
  • 1989: Sam Toeug
Angus McDonald Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
ASEE award for Teaching Excellence
Class of 2019

Presented on 24 April 2017, in recognition of extraordinary achievement and service, making the Class of 2019 and Cornell University a better experience for all

Cornell AIIE Teaching Award
Cornell Engineering Alumni Association (CEAA) Academic Achievement Award

The CEAA established this award to recognize non-tenure staff/lecturers who go well beyond their job duties for advising, teaching and general help to students and who enhance undergraduate education outside of the classroom


Daniel M. Lazar '29 Excellence in Teaching Award
Dean's Prize for Innovation in Undergraduate Teaching
Dennis G. Shepherd Teaching Award
Distinguished Educator Award in the inaugural class of alumni awards
Dorothy and Fred Chau MS '74 Teaching Award
Douglas Whitney Award for Teaching Excellence
Faculty Innovation in Teaching Grant (Cornell)

with David Gries


Fiona Ip Li '78 and Donald Li '75 Excellence in Teaching Award
Hebrew University Lady Davis Fellowship
Honorary Doctor of Science, University of Newcastle
IEEE Taylor L. Booth Education Award

The Taylor L. Booth award recognizes outstanding contributions in computer science and engineering education.

IIT Bombay Distinguished Alumnus Award
Intel PhD Foundation Fellowship
James and Marsha McCormick Advising Award
James and Martha D. McCormick Advising Award

This award recognizes outstanding advising in the College of Engineering at Cornell


James and Mary Tien Excellence in Teaching Award
John M. and Emily B. Clark Distinguished Teaching Awards

These awards are given to one or two faculty (out of approximately 600) per year in the College of Arts & Science.


Kendall S. Carpenter Memorial Advising Award

The Kendall S. Carpenter Memorial Advising Awards for individuals recognize "sustained and distinguished contributions of professorial faculty and senior lecturers to undergraduate advising."


Kenneth A. Goldman '71 Excellence in Teaching Award
Lilly Foundation Fellow

This award consists of funds to support the development of courses.


Marill Presidential Scholar
Merrill Presidential Scholar Outstanding Educator Award

Each year, Cornell picks 30-40 Merrill Scholars, the best (out of about 2,000) graduating seniors. In turn, each Merrill Scholar chooses the Cornell faculty member (the Outstanding Educator) and high school teacher who most influenced their education.


Michael Tien '72 Excellence in Teaching Award
MIT EECS Masters Award
Mr. & Mrs. Richard F. Tucker Teaching Excellence Award
New York State Professor of the Year

This award is given by CASE and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. Universities and Colleges can submit nominations in any discipline. Thus, this is not simply a computer science award.


  • 1994: Daniel Huttenlocher
Outstanding Achievement in Education from UMass, Amherst
Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholar
  • 2007: Daniel Huttenlocher
Professor-at-Large, University of Tromsoe
Ralph S. Watts '72 Excellence in Teaching Award
Robert A. and Donna B. Paul Award for Excellence in Advising

Robert Paul '59, a Cornell trustee emeritus and presidential councillor, established the Paul Advising Endowment in Arts and Sciences with his wife, Donna, said Lehman. The endowment funds, among numerous advising programs, the Paul Awards of Excellence in Advising.


Ruth and Joel Spira Award for Excellence in Teaching
SIGCSE Award for Outstanding Contribution to Computer Science Education

Honors an individual or group in recognition of a significant contribution to computer science education.

Sonny Yau ‘72 Excellence in Teaching Award
Stephen & Margery Russell Distinguished Teaching Award

These awards are given to one or two faculty (out of approximately 600) per year in the College of Arts & Science.


Stephen '57 and Marilyn Miles Excellence in Teaching Award
Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellow

In 1993, in order to recognize outstanding contributions to undergraduate teaching, Cornell instituted this award. It is given annually to three Cornell Faculty (out of over 1,000), who carry the title throughout their stay at Cornell.


Tau Beta Pi Professor of the Year

The Tau Beta Pi engineering honor society recognizes a tenure track professor as one of the college's most outstanding teachers. Professors are nominated by their students and selected by Tau Beta Pi.


Texas Exes Teaching Award for Outstanding Professor
The Ben Gurion University Postdoctoral Fellowship
University of Cambridge, Visiting Scholar
UT Austin Outstanding Graduate Adviser Award
UT College of Natural Sciences Teaching Excellence Award
Visiting Chair Professor, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
William & Mary Alumni Faculty Award